Today is our last day in Uganda.  Leaving is different this time.  When I left in October, I knew I would be coming back.  This time, as I leave an even bigger piece of my heart in Uganda, I’m not sure when I will be reunited with it.  I know I will be back, but it may be a long time.  That is hard.

Leaving Buloba yesterday was just as difficult.  As I said goodbye, I told my friends that it wasn’t “goodbye” but “until next time,” but even as I said it, I wasn’t sure when “next time” would be.

I should be an expert at leaving.  I have done it a lot.  I have moved from city to city.  I have been on many mission trips, some where I was ready to go home and some where it was a struggle to get on the plane.  This time I am struggling to get on the plane.

It’s hard, because I know God has so much in store for me back home, but I love Uganda.  I think it’s harder for me know because my life has been in such a transition for the past year, and it would be easy to stay here.  It would be easier to be in this place instead of going back to the unknown.  It would be easier to be here where my heart is alive than to go back to the uncertainty.

I know in my heart that it is not time for me to stay here, but I want to, and that doesn’t make it any easier.  And, no matter where I go, my heart will always be tied to Uganda.

So, I won’t say “goodbye” but “until next time.”

