Tonight we had Chick-fil-A for dinner.  Meet Chick-fil-A

Before

After

On Sunday, Pastor Isaac got a phone call from Sylvia’s family letting him know that Sylvia had a chicken for me.  When he told me, I was so taken off guard, all I could do was laugh.  I didn’t want to be rude, but I have never had anyone give me a chicken.  I didn’t know how to respond.  I asked Pastor Isaac what I was supposed to do with a chicken, and he looked at me like I was crazy and said, “Eat it.”  I definitely felt like a stupid American.

Pastor Isaac told me that when someone gives you a chicken, they are giving you the most important thing they have.  Chickens are how people make money and feed their families.  It is the best gift I have ever been given.  So, we decided that we would receive the chicken on Monday.

Monday afternoon, Sylvia’s dad and little sister showed up at the church with a chicken and pictures of the family.  They told me that Sylvia had raised the chicken and she was the one who took care of it.  She gave me the most important thing she owned.  I was so humbled by their gift that all I could do was say thank you, thank you, thank you.

I was reminded just how much our hearts are tied together.  This family is my family.  Matthew 6:21 says that where our treasure is, that is where our heart is.  My heart is here in Uganda.  My heart is with Sylvia and her family.  I may give them $35 a month, but they have given me the best gift ever–LOVE.

