In Uganda when crazy things happen, they say “TIA: This is Africa.”  That pretty much sums up yesterday and today.

Yesterday, we planned to go to Bethany Village in the morning then to Buloba for the afternoon.  We left for Bethany a little later than planned, but that is pretty normal here.  We took the boat across Lake Victoria to Bethany Village and stayed there for a little bit longer than we had planned.

Bethany Village is a very unique ministry of Gaba Church.  It is a place where orphaned or homeless children live and go to school.  There are 198 children currently living in Bethany Village, and there are only 11 house mothers/parents for those children.  Most homes have between 10-15 children living in them.  The school is also open to the surrounding villages, and over 400 of those students attending the school are part of the ARM sponsorship program.  The vision of Bethany Village is to raise up the future leaders of Uganda by providing a Christian education, a home, and skills for these children.

Bethany Village is one of the most amazing places on the earth.  It makes me stop and question what I am doing to help raise the next generation of American leaders.  It stops me in my tracks when I look at the dedication these administrators and house mothers have to these children.

When we left Bethany, we were about an hour behind schedule, and our boat ride back across Lake Victoria hit a few snags when the engine stop working.  For a while there we thought we might have to paddle back to shore.

By the time we made it back to the house, it was too late to travel out to Buloba.  So, unfortunately I did not get to meet with the women.  I was a little upset about it, but I realized that God knows what is meant to happen, and maybe the most important thing was my willingness to share and be vulnerable.  And, I’m sure I will have the opportunity before I leave here.

Since we didn’t go to Buloba, we decided to walk up to the Loving Hearts Baby Home and play with the children.  The Loving Hearts Baby Home is a place for children up to 3 years old who are up for adoption or in the process of being adopted.  I didn’t get the chance to go there in October, so it was a nice treat to get to see it.  We played with the kids for hours, and I got to hold the most beautiful baby girl.  She was only 4 wks old and couldn’t have weighed more than six pounds.  It was great to just sit with an innocent child and simply love her.  It was the way the afternoon should have been.

Today, we spent the whole day in Buloba, since we missed being there yesterday afternoon.  We hung rain catches all day.  It was hot.  I was sweaty and a little sunburned, but, it was great.  We had many great conversations and experiences.  I love going to someone’s home and giving them something that not only will impact their physical life, but will be a constant reminder of God.

The Living Water is the one who not only provides drinking water but Living Water.

I think that is beautiful.

For the final TIA moment…On the way home from Buloba we stopped at this store in the  not far from the house because several people on the team wanted to buy machetes.  So there we are, a van full of white people, sitting on the side of a busy street with people and goats walking all around us.  And, at one point David and Eddie (or drivers and guides) were not even in the van.  Then, someone says “You know there is something suspicious about a van full of white people buying 20 machetes.”  The moment was priceless, and the scary thing was that it is true.

**I had planned to add pictures to this post, but the power is out, and my computer is about to die….so, the pictures will have to come later.

