I don’t know why I’m always amazed that God is always about 20 steps ahead of me.  I should expect it by now.

Yesterday our itinerary read something like this: eat breakfast, get adjusted to things, eat lunch, go to Buloba, return to Kampala, eat dinner, sleep.

My first trip pretty well adjusted me, but everyone else only got a few hours to adjust to this

Yesterday afternoon, we went to Buloba Community Church.  It was great to see so many familiar faces and be swarmed by kids.  We walked down to the old well, which I didn’t do on my last trip.  It was really interesting to see, and puts things into perspective when I turn on my faucet and water flows freely out of it.

On the way back to the church, I got to stop at Sylia’s house.  She has grown up so much, and she is such a beautiful girl, and I am so grateful to be a part of her life.

Then, Pastor Isaac showed me the schedule for the week, and I was scheduled to speak with the ladies at the church on Thursday.  I had no idea and was pretty taken off guard when he asked me what I had prepared.  So, I sat down with Mary who leads the women’s ministry, and we began to talk about what the women there at BCC struggle with.

First, she asked me to talk about parenting, but I let her know that probably wouldn’t be the best idea, since I’m not a parent.  Then, she turned to me and said that these women really struggle with anger and forgiveness, and it would be great if I could talk about that.  I could have fell off of my bench.

The subject of forgiveness has been coming up in my life consistently in different places for the past 4 years.  I struggle with forgiving people from my past for deep wounds that I still carry with me.  I have been working through the process of forgiveness in my own life for years and it is a day to day decision that never seems to end.  For someone who has a hard time forgiving, I know a lot about it.  It is the place in my life that is most vulnerable, and today I will be sharing that with these beautiful Ugandan women.

The idea of opening up about my struggle with forgiveness with these women honestly scared me to death, and God knows that.  He likes to stretch me and challenge me.  He always seems to put me in situations where He asks, “Amy, do you trust me?” And, I have to answer yes.

Going to Africa isn’t hard.  Sharing my story is hard.  Being transparent is hard.

Please pray for me today as I share my heart with these women.  Pray that God would break down our cultural barriers and speak truth into these women’s lives.  Pray that God would speak truth into my life through these women.

