Holy Week has begun.  The entire season of Lent, the 40 days leading up to Easter, invites us to journey alongside Christ as He heads toward the cross, and now we have come to the end, where the cross in immanent.  This is actually one of my favorite times of the year, because it not only makes me look back at what Christ did on the cross, but it also makes me look at my own journey with Him and how He is moving in my life now.

I have been reminded of this several times over the past few months.  One way this has happened is through our Confirmation students.

Yesterday, at Cornerstone, 16 students stood before the church body and declared their faith in Christ and surrendered to Him.  Ten of these students were also baptized, and I had the amazing opportunity to stand beside them, watch their bodies go under the water, and help raise them out of the water.  Baptism is such a beautiful picture of new life.  And, it always reminds me that the new life we are raised in is Christ’s life.

But, before Sunday ever happened, I had a conversation with each of these students.  And, the one word that seemed to come up over and over was the word “journey.”  It was so amazing to see how God has had these students on a journey from the time they were little children to get them to where they are now.  He has been wooing them and drawing them to Himself, even when they didn’t realize it.  Their journey continues now as they follow after Him, and I am so humbled to be a tiny part of it.

Another way God has been revealing this to me is in my own personal life. God has been reminding me of the journey He has had me on for the past 26 years and the journey He still has ahead of me.  It doesn’t end here.  He has been renewing my heart to the core of what He has called me to.  He has been drawing me into Himself and revealing things to me about myself that I didn’t even know.  He is preparing me and pruning me.

Lent has definitely been a journey for me.  I had all of these grand ideas of how I what I was going to do for Lent, and how I was going to give up sin and replace it with Him (read this post about my Lent goals).  But,  the truth is that I failed.  I did not succeed.  As I was driving to work this morning and thinking about the fact that I failed at Lent this year, I realized that maybe that’s the point.  As hard as I try, I can’t do it.  I can’t not sin.  I can’t be perfect.  I will fail.

And, that’s where the Lamb takes over…

