I finished a tube of toothpaste the other day, which is one of my favorite things in life.  But, it’s not just toothpaste.  I love finishing a bottle of shampoo or detergent, a box of cereal or jar of peanut butter.

I know it sounds silly, but I love the feeling of accomplishment that squeezing the last little bit of toothpaste out on my toothbrush brings.  I think it’s because it’s not only something I have seen through to its absolute end, but it also means that a fresh start is around the corner.  The next morning I get to unleash a brand new tube of toothpaste.

I need to feel some sense of accomplishment in my life on a daily basis.  It’s why I have a “to do” list.  Crossing things off that list is just as satisfying as squeezing out that last bit of toothpaste.  And, I need renewal in my life.  Starting something new creates a burst of energy inside me to move forward.  It gives me another accomplishment to look forward to.

I don’t think we consider these little successes enough in our life.  It’s these little things that move us along from day to day.  They aren’t just the things that move us forward to the big things in life…they are what make up the movement of life.

It’s in these little things that we worship our Creator.  It’s in the little things that He renews us.

