The past few weeks, I have been living in Ephesians 4:17-5:7.  This passage isn’t new to me, but it’s amazing how a passage of Scripture comes alive when I have to teach it to teenagers.  I have been wrestling with this passage, not because of the bad things in my life, but because of the good things that aren’t in my life.

Sure, I haven’t killed anyone lately, but have I haven’t shared life with anyone either.  I haven’t cussed anyone out lately, but I wouldn’t say that my life, or my speech, has been pure either.

Ephesians 4:22-24 says

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

I read a quote one time from Aaron Weiss (of Mewithoutyou) where he said, “Jesus Christ came to bring an entirely new way of life that we are not living.”  The truth is that we have been given a “new self” that is created to BE LIKE GOD.  We have to opportunity to be like God, not because we deserve it or have passed the test, but because of what Ephesians 2:4-5 says

But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved.

I was wallowing in the mud of my lust and desires that I thought would make me happy.  I was dead.  Then, Jesus Christ came to make me alive.  He gave me a new life, and not just any life, but a life that is created to be like God.  I have been rescued from death to be like God!

But, so often I find myself returning to my old life, not because it’s good, but because sin makes me feel good in the moment, and to be honest, it’s easier and more comfortable.  I go right back to what I’ve been rescued from.

It makes me angry that I have been so deceived over the years into thinking that the things I desire outside of God will make me happy.  It makes me so angry that Satan is in the business of deceiving teenagers from the very beginning so they are held captive to their sin, thinking it’s what will bring them life.

In this life and death fight we have been deceived to believe that what brings death actually brings life.  I am tired of falling for this lie.  And, I’m tired of watching the people around me fall for this lie.

If that’s not a reason to share LIFE, I don’t know what is.

