So, I’m going to preface this blog with two things:
1. This is not an attempt to make anyone feel bad about anything, but to help us assess the relationships in our own life.
2. This is not an attempt to make anyone feel sorry for me.  Don’t.  After all, I’m going to be okay.

This past week, in the face of a very difficult situation, someone said to me, “Amy, you’re going to be okay.”

I know she probably thought this was true, and it made her feel better to say it, but I began to think, when did it become okay to be okay? One day things will be okay, but is that what we really want for the people we claim to love?

People bump into each other at the grocery store, work, the gym, school, even church and the conversation goes a little like this:

Person 1: “Hi! It’s so good to see you.  How are you?” (smiling)

Person 2: “I’m doing okay.”

Person 1: “Great!  Well, have a great day.” (smiling)

I am guilty of this.  We are all guilty of this.  Because somehow we’ve gotten it into our heads that 1) when people tell us they are okay, they are telling the truth, and 2) being okay is a good thing.

Now, we have no control over whether people are telling us the truth or not, but if we took just a few more seconds to stop and really talk to that person, maybe we could make a positive impact in their day.  Yes, it’s hard.  Yes, it’s messy to care about people.  But, if you are person 2, wouldn’t you want someone to do that for you?

It’s easy for us to dismiss people who say they are “okay” because life is busy and difficult (and maybe we don’t want to admit that we really aren’t okay either).  So, we let ourselves believe that being okay is a good thing, when it’s not, and shouldn’t be.

The word “okay” actually means “adequate but unexceptional.”

Personally, I want more for myself and the people I love.

Now, I’m not some idealist who thinks life is always going to be perfect and happy.  But, I do think that if we are more intentional about truly caring for people, then when someone responds to the question, “how are you?” with “I’m okay,” we will not be satisfied to just smile and walk away.

