I’m thinking about taking up a career in modeling…

Okay, some of you think I have lost my mind.  I know that I’m no Heidi Klum.  I’m not that disillusioned, but I think it’s time that my ministry became modeling.  It’s time for me to wear on the outside the life I have on the inside.  It’s time to change how I live.

Over the past few weeks, I have been wrestling with what I like to call a “holy discontent.”  I look at my life and wonder if my life is making an impact on the world?  What am I doing to change people’s lives?  Who is the last person I shared my faith with?  When was the last time I sacrificed myself for someone else?  Does what I do every day really make a difference? Am living a good story?

I was recently confronted with the statistic that there are 143 million orphans in the world.  In the United States, over 100,000 children are waiting right now for families, and if 33% of churches in the US had one family adopt one child, there would be no more orphans in the US. (Check out www.143million.org and www.bethany.org)

This statistic just blows my mind.  As the church we are called to take care of the orphans and widows (James 1:27).  What are we doing about that?  What am I doing about that?

Here’s another statistic for you: 3.900 children die every day from water borne illnesses due to the lack of clean water.  It costs $10 to give a child clean water for life.  And it would cost $10 billion to solve the world’s water crisis once and for all.  This may sound like a lot of money (well, it is).  But, considering that Americans spent $450 billion on Christmas gifts last year alone, $10 billion is a drop in the bucket. (Check out www.adventconspiracy.org)

As the church we are called to feed the hungry, give water to the thirsty, clothe the naked, help those who are poor, homeless, imprisioned (Matthew 25:31-46).  What are we doing about that?  What am I doing about that?

Welcome to my holy discontent.

So much of my life I have been waiting for what’s next…to graduate high school, to graduate from college, to graduate from seminary, to get a job.  Now, that all of those things have happened I find myself making up “next things” to wait for and thus put off living my “real” life: to get married, to pay off my school loans, to have a family, to have a house…It could go on forever.

All I can think about is how we could change the world if we chose to live our lives differently.  To stop waiting and starting living lives that impact the world.

I may just be one person.  You may just be one person.  But, one person is one person who can do something.

I work with teenagers, and I am constantly asking myself how I can call them to live lives bigger than themselves, to do something huge with their life.  I can talk to them until I’m blue in the face, but that’s no good. They need to see the life being lived in front of them.  They need someone to model the life.  They need to see the Truth in action.

Because after all, if the church isn’t changing the world, who will?

But, then I come back to the question of who is the church, and the only place I can point my finger is at myself.  I am the church.

So, if I’m not changing the world, who will?

