“Whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave— just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”  (Matthew 20:26-28, NIV)

I’ve bee dwelling on this all day….soaking it in….letting it rearrange my heart, mind, soul.  And, all I can think is, am I that person?  Have I let the Truth so transform me that my life reflects the purpose of Christ–to offer his life as a ransom for many?

I love the way The Message puts it:

“Whoever wants to be great must become a servant. Whoever wants to be first among you must be your slave. That is what the Son of Man has done: He came to serve, not be served—and then to give away his life in exchange for the many who are held hostage.”

There are people all around me that are held hostage–to their sin, the lies they have been told, their past, shame, doubt, fear, hopelessness, loneliness, despair.  What is my life doing to rescue those who are held hostage?

The word “ransom” literally means “something that is paid or demanded for the release of someone/something from captivity.”  Jesus life was the ransom required for mine to be released from captivity.  What is my life a ransom for?  Is my life being offered as a ransom for those who are lost, those who are dying in captivity at this very moment?

One of the best pictures I have ever seen of this is the movie Man on Fire. (I want to preface this by saying that this movie is rated R for a very good reason.  I am not condoning the movie itself, but the message cannot be denied.  Yes, it is violent and inappropriate at points, but the message is one that transcends the method of presentation.  I love this movie because it convicts me.  It struck something within me that any “Christian” movie has yet to even graze.)

Man on Fire tells the story of a man, Creasy, who is hired to protect the daughter of a very important man, who lives in Mexico.  Creasy vows to protect the little girl, Pita, through whatever means necessary, which he follows through with. Ultimately, Creasy is faced with the decision to give up his life in place of Pita’s.  He must give himself over to the men who have kidnapped her so that she can be rescued from her captivity.  And, might I add, it is based on a true story.

The last scenes of the movie play out this sequence beautifully: (It’s a little long, but worth the watch)

Creasy was willing to be the ransom for Pita.  What/Who am I willing to be a ransom for?

If Jesus came to seek and save the LOST (aka not the ones who already knew the Truth) which He did by being a servant and giving his life as a ransom, and I am called to be becoming like Him……what does that mean for me?

And, am I really ready to know what that means for me?

