I have been waiting on this for a while.  It has been brewing and stirring up inside of me for a few weeks now.  It is being birthed inside me even as a write this.

It is VISION.

God has doing a lot in my heart/mind/life lately, as I said in my last post.  And, now I’m at a place where I can begin to share the things God has been showing me and teaching me.

I have been learning more than I ever thought I could learn about leadership, and the more I learn, the less I feel prepared to be a leader.  But, nevertheless, God has called me to lead for this time in this place, and I must be obedient.  And, obedience requires that I listen to Him and do what He says.  It means that I risk failure.

Tonight was VIP night at Cornerstone, and while I have been thinking a lot about my fear of failure (aka–stepping out and trying something and it bombing), my pastor, Rusty, said something that caught me in such a way that I had to write it down.

“We have to be willing to fail, as long as we are failing in the right direction: toward Christ.” — Rusty Hutson

I have a feeling this will be on my wall for at least the next year.  Because, I am about to risk failure, but if I fail, at least I will be failing in the right direction.

All of that to say….I want to share the vision for Cornerstone Youth with you:

s5003492

(just in case you were wondering what “vision” looks like, this is what vision looks like for me, at least right now)

5/50/10

5 adults invested in the lives of each student

50 un-churched, de-churched, non-Christian students reached

10 by the end of 2010

This is the vision.  This is the beginning of what God has waiting on the horizon for this ministry.  This is the beginning of the revolution.

So, how in the world is this going to get done?  Honestly, I’m not completely sure yet, but I do have some ideas (in no particular order)….

1.  Invest in parents so they can invest in their teenagers.

2.  Invest in adult leaders so they can invest in small groups of teenagers that in turn invest in their lost friends.

3.  Create an engaging environment that is intentionally Biblical and culturally relevant in order to reach students for Christ.

4.  Be someone who moves through change and helps others move through it.

5.  Keep the vision clear and in front of people.

6.  Get plugged into the local schools.

7.  Build teams around me of people that are smarter and better than me.

8. Always be learning and growing.

9.  Streamline ministry.

10.  Don’t be afraid to step out and take a risk, because I’m afraid God won’t be there to catch me.

This is just the beginning.  There will definitely be more about this in the near future.

But, I must ask…Will you join in the vision?  Will you join the revolution?

