There is so much going on in my life right now….so much I need/want to blog about. There is so much I have been chewing on over the past week….so much God is working on in my mind and moving to my heart. So, so much. I know I will blog about all of it eventually.  But, if there was just one thing I needed to say right now, one thing that God has been molding within me that I just have to get out, it would have to be all included in one word: striving.

As a staff, we have been memorizing and meditating on Philippians 2:5-11, which pretty much smacks me in the face every day.  These verses call us to have the same attitude of Christ, in that He completely emptied himself of all his rights to be God, meaning he didn’t strive to attain the equality with God that he deserved on earth, but became a man (just like me and you) and was so obedient to God that he gave up his life.  But this wasn’t just any death.  He died a criminal’s death, the most painful death possible, so I could know him personally.  This is the attitude I’m supposed to have.

So much of my life I have been working toward a goal, the next thing that will make life perfect better, but once I “reach” that goal, it always moves.  This, my friends, is my striving.  Always trying to get to the next place of glory, happiness, reward….but, it never ends.  I do this in my personal life, with my friends and relationships, in ministry, in my relationship with God….it goes on and on.  And, what my brain is coming to realize, but my heart is still trying to catch on to, is that I can’t do it.  I wasn’t made to be happy by anything on this earth.

I have been writing some curriculum over the past few weeks for our Life Groups on the Beatitudes (Matthew 5:1-12).  In these verses, Jesus takes a traditional method of pronouncing blessing and completely flips it upside down.  It’s not wealth and the absence of suffering or doing what feels good or being in control that brings true blessing and happiness; it’s a life that is surrendered to Him where true blessing is found.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I need to cool my jets.  I have spent way too much of my life striving to be better, to do better, to feel better, when all I need to do is strive after HIM, and He will make me great, produce great things through me and create a heart within me that craves Him.  And, He will recieve all the glory, which is the way it should be.

Maybe that was more than one thing…

