It snowed yesterday in Auburn. This morning there was still some left on the ground. I love the snow, but I don’t get to see it very often, so it was pretty special.

s5003472

Bella liked the snow, too. I think that was the most excited I have seen her so far.

s5003478

As I was driving to Cornerstone yesterday morning, I was thinking about some particular sins I had struggled with the day before and even that morning and was feeling pretty broken and unworthy. But, as I was watching the pouring snow blanket the muddy ground, I couldn’t help but be overwhelmed by the way snow completely conceals the flaws of the world and transforms the ugliest things into pristine masterpieces.

I love snow, because it tells my story.

Jesus took all of my muddy, ugly, mess and didn’t just blanket it with snow, but turned me into snow. Because of Him I am a pristine masterpiece. I am clean. I am pure. I am snow.

It makes me think of 2 Corinthians 5:21 –

“God made Him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God.”

That’s me. That’s my story.

It touches something deep inside me. The part of me that I tuck away and bury because I am ashamed of it. The part of me where my deepest sins reside.

Then, I got to church. A guy named Chip Jackson was preached, and I am convinced that God was speaking directly to me. He preached from Matthew 5:8, “Blessed are the pure in heart for they will see God.” Now, I have been spending quite some time in the Beatitudes over the past few weeks (ironically, I am writing a curriculum on the Beatitudes), but it was like God smacked me in the face with this verse, like I was reading it for the first time.

As Chip preached, I was completely taken with the fact that I will never be pure. I can’t be. I am tainted. I am flawed. I am broken. No matter how hard I try, I will never attain the purity needed to see the face of God.

But, I am snow. Jesus has made me into snow. Pure, clean, uncorrupted, pristine, white, beautiful snow.

Because He has made me pure, I get to see Him. And, seeking Him, seeking His face, leads me to purity. I get to know God. And, one day I will get to see clearly what is such a poor reflection right now. I will get to see Him face to face.

I am looking forward to that.

