So…as of yesterday, I have a dog.

Bella is a 9 wk old Border Collie.  She is beautiful.

s5003444

(She was sleeping a little awkwardly on my couch, but it was just too cute.)

s5003442

This was kind of an impulse decision (not the best way to acquire a dog), but I have wanted my own pet for a very long time.  However, I never thought I would have a dog.  I have never really thought of myself as a “dog person,” but I guess I am now.

Let me just say that pet ownership is much different than I thought it would be.   After not even an hour of having her, she pooped and puked on me (everyone is telling me that it’s training for motherhood).  I knew it would be difficult, but I didn’t realize how vulnerable and raw and unsure I would be.  Granted, it’s only been a day, but I have no idea what I’m doing.  I am trying to figure out how to potty train her and at the same time how to get her to eat.  It worries me that she is so calm and timid and sleeps all the time.  She is utterly dependent on me, and that scares me to death.  What if I’m not enough for her?

I don’t know how to do this.

But, it all goes back to how God is shaping me and changing me from the inside out.  A year ago, I was dead set against having a dog, but my heart has been slowly changing.   God is teaching me about love and compassion and caring for something(one) other than myself.  I want so badly to be married and have a family, and I don’t even know how to take care of this little puppy.  But, I’m learning, and I’m letting myself be taught.  Even if God is using this beautiful little ball of fur to do it.

Anyone know a dog whisperer?

