We are entering a new part of the Alive series at Cornerstone which focuses on prayer.  This morning Rusty preached on the Lord’s Prayer (Matthew 6:9-13).  I love taking something I hear so often and really examining it.  It’s almost like seeing it for the first time.

This morning, as I was listening to Rusty, my attention kept getting drawn back to v.11, “Give us this day our daily bread.”  Yes, this is a prayer for God’s provision, but it is a day to day provision.  Jesus is giving us an example of how to pray and He pretty much says, “Give me what I need to be sustained today.”  He didn’t pray for abundance; He prayed for dependence.   To ask God to provide what I need on a day to day basis is to pray for total dependence upon Him to take care of me.

This is not how I was taught to pray, and it’s not the attitude most American Christians have.  We want to be well taken care of (money in the bank, food on the table, a car in the driveway, every type of insurance imaginable…), not dependent on God for our next meal.  And, yet Jesus tells us to pray, “Give us this day our daily bread.”

It made me think of this video I saw on Francis Chan’s blog.

Makes you think.

