Tonight was the first night of Journey Bible Classes at Cornerstone.  (It’s really amazing.  You should come!)  As I was sitting there, it struck me that over the past seven years I have been immersed in this stuff, and I still feel like I will never know enough.  As I listened to the same things I was taught in college and seminary, I began to miss the days when all I did was study the Bible.  I had to study then, because I had to pass my classes, but I LOVED it.  I loved that the Bible was my text book.  But, now I am finding it harder and harder to set aside the time to really study the Bible for the pure love of God’s Word.

Yesterday and today I have been sort of swimming around in Psalm 119.  This psalm is so convicting for me becuase of how much passion the psalmist has for the Scripture:

Your statutes are wonderful; therefore I obey them.  The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.  I open my mouth and pant, longing for your commands.  Turn to me and have mercy on me, as you always do to those who love your name.  Direct my footsteps according to your word; let no sin rule over me.  Redeem me from the oppression of men, that I may obey your precepts.  Make your face shine upon your servant and teach me your decrees.  Streams of tears flow from my eyes, for your law is not obeyed.”  Psalm 119:129-136

Man, I want to be like this guy!  When is the last time I could say that I was longing for the Word of God so much that it was like I was panting for thirst?  When is the last time I had streams of tears flowing down my face because God’s law was broken?

Today I was thinking that when the psalmist refers the Law, that’s exactly what he is referring to — the Torah (the first five books of the Bible, also known as the Book of the Law).  The psalmist had no wisdom literature or prophecy.  He had no New Testament, and yet he was longing earnestly for the salvation promised to Israel.  I so quickly take for granted the amount of Scripture I have access to.  I have the privelege of seeing a little bit of the bigger picture.  I can see how salvation history has unfolded, and yet so many days, my Bible doesn’t even get opened (at least not for the pure love of the Word).

I do love God’s Word, but I want it to be more.  I want it to be something that I can’t get enough of.  I want to crave it in a way that nothing else will satisfy me.  I want His Word to be contagious in my life, spreading to every part and even infecting those around me.  I want to obey His Word because I love it.  I want it to be my life.

