I went to lunch today with my cousin Ashley and her now almost 3yr old son, Micah.  It’s always good to spend time with them because it seems to take me, if only for a few moments, out of the mess that my life has become.  Today, one of Ashley’s friends and his son met us at Micah’s favorite place, Burger King, so the kids could spend some time playing together.

As I have gotten older, I have realized what a joy children are.  It is so amazing to just sit back and watch them, and it is even more amazing to watch how they interact with each other.  Yes, there are still some kids that make me want to pull my hair out, but there also some who absolutely light up my world.  Micah is one of those children.  I love being around him, and I may be a little biased, but I believe he is one of the most beautiful children in the entire world.  He has the most amazing laugh which is so contagious that I can’t help but laugh with him, and he is probably already smarter than me.  All of that to say, I love this child.

Today as I watched him run around the playground, sliding down the big, red, plastic slide, every possible way he could imagine, which made his curly blonde hair stand straight up from the static, and burying his cars under piles of wood chips, I got a little lost in the wonderfulness of this incredible little boy.  And, I began to wonder if God sees me this way, after all I am His child.

I wonder if my laughter brings so much joy to my Father that He can’t help but get caught up in it and join in.  I wonder if sometimes He just sits back and watches me in wonderment, not because He created me, but because I am His daughter.  And, just as much as He loves the good times, I wonder if His heart breaks when my heart gets broken.  Like a parent running to his child and swooping her up into his arms when she gets hurt, does God act this way toward me?  Is there something about the love of a parent that can teach us about the love of God?  Is there something about the wonder of a child that shows us how God loves us?  I believe so.

The most amazing thing is how much I adore Micah, and I am not even his mother.  In fact, Micah and I have a rather new relationship.  We are still learning about each other and growing closer.  I can’t even imagine the love Ashley has for him.  She has been there from the very, very, very beginning.  But, even more, I can’t imagine how much God, who has been there before the beginning even began, loves him, or me, or you.

